# Empathise

# Shadowing

Motive Understand the actions in a given context
Participants User, observer
Duration From 1 day to 1 week

# What is it about?

The client or another actor involved in the process is accompanied for a certain period of time while interacting with the object of the project. The decisive factor here is that the observer does not intervene in any way, but remains as inconspicuous as a shadow.

# The goal

This method is intended to reveal how the person being observed behaves in the particular context and how he or she experiences the situation. It should reveal which feelings, expectations and abnormalities arise. Shadowing may reveal needs and potentials which would not be conveyed in the interview or discussion with the client, as they are not known to the respondents themselves.

# How to do it?

  1. Carefully select the person to be shadowed.
  2. Agree time and period as well as the topic of interest with the customer.
  3. Accompany the person, but do not interfere with his actions.
  4. Take notes during the observation or photograph or film the process.
  5. Do not ask any questions or comment the action of the user.
  6. Use your results for the following analysis.

# When do you need it?

Shadowing is most useful when it comes to researching the subliminal needs of the customer, of whom he is not aware. This method therefore offers a good supplement to direct surveys, such as interviews.

# Resources

  • Camera
  • Notebook

# Keep in mind

The observed person must be made aware that the accompanying person has no intervening function and he or she should behave as naturally as possible. In the normal case, however, a completely natural behavior is not achieved. This must be taken into account during the exploitation of the results.

# See also


Previous methods Alternative methods Following methods

# Sources

Curedale: Design Thinking: process and methods manual Design Community College Inc. ISBN: 9780988236240.

# Empathie

# Schatten

Motiv Auf Schritt und Tritt dabei und doch unauffällig
Beteiligte Nutzer, Beobachter
Zeitfaktor 1 Tag bis 1 Woche

# Darum geht's

Hierbei wird der Kunde oder ein anderer am Prozess beteiligter Akteur für einen bestimmten Zeitraum begleitet, während er mit dem Gegenstand des Projekts interagiert. Entscheidend ist hierbei, dass der Beobachtende in keiner Weise eingreift, sondern so unauffällig bleibt, wie ein Schatten.

# Das ist das Ziel

Diese Methode soll offenbaren, wie sich der Begleitete im betreffenden Kontext verhält und wie dieser die Situation erlebt. Es soll Klarheit darüber bringen, welche Gefühle, Erwartungen und Auffälligkeiten hierbei auftreten. Es können auch Bedürfnisse und Potentiale aufgedeckt werden, die im Interview oder dem Austausch mit dem Kunden nicht vermittelt werden, da sie den Befragten selbst nicht bewusst sind.

# So macht man's

  1. Wähle die zu begleitende Person mit Sorgfalt aus.
  2. Vereinbare Zeitpunkt und Zeitraum sowie Gegenstand der Begleitung mit dem Kunden.
  3. Begleite die entsprechende Person, beobachte seine Handlungen aber greife nicht ein.
  4. Fertige während der Beobachtung ein Protokoll an oder fotografiere bzw. filme den Prozess.
  5. Stelle keine Fragen und kommentiere nicht.
  6. Nutze deine Ergebnisse für die anschließende Analyse.

# Wann du's brauchst

Schatten spielt man am besten dann, wenn besonders unterschwellige Bedürfnisse des Kunden erforscht werden sollen, dessen er sich selbst nicht bewusst ist. Diese Methode bietet daher eine gute Ergänzung zu direkten Befragungen, wie beispielsweise Interviews.

# Ressourcen

  • Kamera
  • Notizbuch

# Das solltest du beachten

Dem Begleiteten muss bewusst gemacht werden, dass der Begleiter keine eingreifende Funktion hat und er sich möglichst natürlich verhalten soll. Im Normfall wird jedoch ein komplett natürliches Verhalten nicht erreicht. Dies muss bei der anschließenden Verwertung der Ergebnisse beachtet werden.

# Siehe auch


Vorangehende Methoden Alternative Methoden Anknüpfende Methoden

# Quellen

Curedale: Design Thinking: process and methods manual Design Community College Inc. ISBN: 9780988236240.
Silva, Silva Filho et al: Design Thinking : Innovation im Unternehmen Logos-Verlag. ISBN: 3832534342.